The short version
- Storyworth sends a question a week by email or text for a year, then prints a hardcover book. When we checked, it started at $69, and it also takes stories over the phone.
- Remento ($99) and Storii (around $99 a year) are built around speaking rather than writing. Remento prints a colour hardcover; Storii phones your parent, even on a landline.
- Dottie's story book needs no writing and no email: stories come out in everyday chats, and your parent chooses which ones to keep.
- Dottie's story book isn't printed yet, and Dottie keeps no voice recordings. If a printed book is the point, Storyworth or Remento is the better choice today.
- We make Dottie, so we're biased. Every other fact below links to the page we read in October 2026.
Why life story projects stall
Many life story projects start with a thoughtful gift and stall in the inbox. It isn't that your parent has nothing to say. Writing about your life can feel like homework, and some people rarely use email, type slowly, or find screens hard on their eyes.
So the useful question is how your parent likes to tell a story. Some love writing. Some will talk for an hour on the phone but never write a line. Some only tell the good stories when a conversation wanders there. If you're still thinking about what to ask, our guide to questions to ask your parents about their life is a good place to start.
The options at a glance
| Feature | Storyworth | Remento | Storii | Dottie story book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How stories are told | Written replies by email or on the website, or told over the phone and transcribed | Spoken recordings on any device, turned into text | Answered over automated phone calls | In ordinary voice chats with Dottie on a tablet or phone |
| How questions arrive | Weekly, by email or text | By email or text message | Up to 3 phone calls a week | Dottie asks now and then in conversation; family can add questions |
| Needs email or writing | Email or text for questions; writing optional | Email or text for prompts; no writing | No, just a phone number | No |
| Works on a landline | Yes, for phone stories | Not stated | Yes | No, needs a tablet or phone with internet |
| Printed book | Yes, one hardcover included | Yes, one colour hardcover included | PDF book and audiobook downloads | Not yet |
| Voice recordings | QR code in the book links to recordings | QR codes in the book play the recordings | Recordings stored, audiobook download | None kept |
| Price | $69, $99 or $199 | $99 for a year and a book | About $9.99 a month or $99 a year | Included with every plan, from $29 a month |
| Extra copies | From $39 | From $69 | Not stated | No printed copies yet |
Checked October 2026 on each company's own site. Prices in US dollars, before tax and shipping outside the US, and they may change.
Storyworth
Storyworth's idea is simple. Your parent, the "storyteller", gets a question each week for a year. They can reply to the email, write on the website or tell the story over the phone. At the end, you order the book.
What it costs
When we checked in October 2026, Storyworth's pricing page listed three plans:
- Basic, $69: a year of weekly questions for one storyteller, and one hardcover book of up to 480 pages with a black-and-white interior and a colour cover.
- Color, $99: the same, with questions by email or text, one full-colour book of up to 300 pages, and one "Family Call" a month so a relative can join a recorded call.
- Unlimited, $199: two colour books, memoirs for as many family members as you like while the plan is active, and weekly guided "Magic Interviews". It renews at $99 a year unless you cancel.
Extra copies are where the cost adds up for big families. Storyworth's book pricing help page (updated September 2026) lists extra books at printing for $39 (black and white, up to 480 pages), $79 (colour, up to 300 pages) and $99 (colour, up to 480 pages). On the Color plan, you can add 180 more pages for $20. Storyworth's home page also showed "starting at $59" in places when we looked, so check the price at checkout. There's a 30-day money-back guarantee.
How voice answers work
This is the part that matters most if your parent won't write. Storyworth's Story Calls help page explains that you open the question, choose to record it, enter a phone number and request a call. Your parent answers, hears the question, tells the story after the beep and hangs up. It's transcribed into the memoir automatically, and it works with any phone, including a landline. Recordings can be listened to later: according to Storyworth's FAQ, memoir books now include a QR code on the last page that opens the project page with the audio.
In practice, someone starts each call from the website, so Storyworth works best for a parent who'll set aside time, or a family who'll nudge each week. The FAQ also says books aren't printed automatically: you order within three months of the year ending, or renew.
Where Storyworth shines
The printed book is a real strength: a hardcover with photos and a year of stories that you can hand to grandchildren. If your parent likes writing, or will happily take a phone call each week, Storyworth is hard to beat.
Remento
Remento is built for speaking. Its FAQ says the storyteller gets a prompt by email or text message, then records from any device with an internet connection, with no app or password needed. Remento's "Speech-to-Story" turns the recording into either a tidied word-for-word transcript or a flowing written story, in English or Spanish, and it can be edited before printing.
When we checked, Remento's home page showed $99 for a year of unlimited prompts and one colour printed book, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Its pricing guide says the book is up to 200 pages, extending to 380 pages costs $30 more, extra hardcover copies are $69 each, recordings can be up to 30 minutes per story, and the book has QR codes linking to the original recordings. Renewal, only needed to keep recording, is $99 a year or $12 a month.
Remento suits a parent who'll answer a text and is happy talking into a phone on their own. Hearing their voice from the book is a lovely touch.
Storii
Storii works entirely by phone. According to Storii's home page, it needs only a valid phone number: Storii calls at times you choose, asks a life story question, and your parent presses 1 to record their answer. There are up to three automated calls a week, from a library of more than 1,000 questions or your own. No internet or smartphone is needed, and on a landline your parent can call in to hear the next question.
Storii's pricing page lists recording, transcription, an AI rewrite of the transcripts, and audiobook and e-book downloads, but it didn't display prices when we checked. Storii's own blog post from May 2026 lists $9.99 a month, $99 a year, or a $119 gift box covering 12 months. Storii offers a PDF book you can print yourself; we didn't find a printed hardcover offered.
Storii suits a parent with a landline who doesn't use the internet.
Doing it yourself
You don't need a service at all.
- A notebook of questions. Write a question at the top of each page and leave it with your parent, or ask in person and write down what they say. It's free, and the handwriting becomes part of the keepsake.
- Record a conversation. Most phones have a voice recorder built in. Sit together with a cup of tea, ask a few questions, and let them wander. Ask first, and tell them what you'll do with it.
- The StoryCorps app. StoryCorps' free app guides you through preparing and recording an interview of up to 45 minutes. You can keep it private, or publish it to the StoryCorps archive, which is held at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.
The catch is that DIY depends on you. Recordings sit unlistened on a phone, and turning hours of audio into something the family can read is real work. If you live far away, our guide to caring for a parent from a distance has ideas for staying close in between visits.
Dottie's story book
Dottie isn't a life story service first. She's an AI voice companion for older people who live alone: your parent taps a friendly face on their tablet or phone and chats with Dottie (a woman's voice) or Teddy (a man's voice), who remembers what matters between chats. The story book grew out of those conversations.
How it works
- No writing, no email. The stories come up the way they always have, in conversation. Now and then, when the moment's right, Dottie asks about something specific: a first job, a wedding, a place they loved.
- Your parent chooses. After a good story, Dottie asks if they'd like to keep it for the family. Only a yes saves it, and a no is completely fine.
- In their own words. Each kept story is written up in the first person, with their phrases and jokes. The ums and repeats are tidied away, and Dottie is careful not to add anything they didn't say.
- Gathered into chapters. Childhood, love, family, work, places and more, with the people, places and years they mentioned.
- Family can ask too. From your phone, add a question you'd love answered. Dottie brings it up when it feels natural and says who was wondering.
- Family can remove any story, and ordinary chats stay private.
What it doesn't do
Dottie's story book isn't printed yet. For now the stories live in your family dashboard, organised into chapters; a printed book is on our list, but we can't promise a date. Dottie doesn't keep voice recordings, so there's no audio to play back. And Dottie needs a tablet or phone with a microphone and an internet connection; she can't ring a landline. You can read more on how Dottie works and on safety and privacy.
What it costs
The story book comes with every plan, including the free week (30 minutes of chatting a day, no card needed). After that, Daily is $29 a month for up to 30 minutes a day, and Plus is $59 a month for up to 1 hour a day. A year of Daily comes to $348: more than Storyworth, but it pays for daily company, with the story book alongside. See pricing.
Which one fits your parent?
| If your parent… | Worth a look |
|---|---|
| Enjoys writing and uses email | Storyworth |
| Would rather talk, and will answer a text | Remento, or Storyworth's phone stories |
| Has a landline and no internet | Storii, or Storyworth's phone stories with your help |
| Won't sit down to "do their memoirs" but loves a chat | Dottie |
| You want a printed book on the shelf this year | Storyworth or Remento |
| You want to hear their voice again later | Remento, Storyworth or a home recording |
These aren't either-or. You could give Storyworth as a gift and still let the best stories turn up in conversation. If you're choosing a present, our gift ideas for elderly parents and Christmas gifts guide cover more options.
Questions families ask
How much does Storyworth cost?
When we checked in October 2026, Storyworth's pricing page listed Basic at $69 (one hardcover book with a black-and-white interior, up to 480 pages), Color at $99 (one full-colour book, up to 300 pages) and Unlimited at $199 (two colour books and unlimited storytellers, renewing at $99 a year). Extra copies cost from $39. Prices are in US dollars.
Can my parent use Storyworth without writing?
Yes, partly. Storyworth's pricing page lists telling stories over the phone with automatic transcription, and its help centre says any phone works, including a landline. Your parent still receives the questions by email or text and someone usually needs to start each call from the website, so it works best with a little help from family.
Is there a life story book that doesn't need email?
Storii phones your parent with questions, so it needs only a phone number. Dottie needs no email either: stories come out in ordinary chats on a tablet or phone, and the ones your parent chooses to keep go into a story book for the family. Dottie needs a tablet or phone with an internet connection; it can't ring a landline.
Can Dottie's story book be printed?
Not yet. The stories live in your family dashboard, organised into chapters with the people, places and years your parent mentioned. A printed book is on our list. If a printed hardcover is what you want this year, Storyworth or Remento is the better choice.
Does Dottie keep recordings of my parent's voice?
No. Dottie writes each kept story up in the first person, in your parent's own words, and doesn't keep voice recordings. If hearing their voice again matters most to you, Remento and Storyworth both put QR codes in their printed books that play the original recordings.
Sources
All checked on 26 October 2026.
- Storyworth, home page (how it works, what's included, 30-day refund)
- Storyworth, "Pricing" (plans, books, extra copies)
- Storyworth help centre, "Book pricing" (updated 10 September 2026)
- Storyworth help centre, "Story calls" (phone stories, landlines, transcription)
- Storyworth, FAQ (a year of questions, ordering the book, QR code for audio)
- Remento, home page (price, what's included, guarantee)
- Remento help centre, "Pricing guide" (pages, extra copies, renewal, recordings)
- Remento, FAQ (prompts by email or text, Speech-to-Story)
- Storii, home page (phone calls, landlines, question library)
- Storii, "Pricing" (plan features)
- Storii blog, "Best life story gifts for parents and grandparents" (Storii prices, May 2026)
- StoryCorps help centre, "How do I record an interview with the StoryCorps app?"
- Dottie, story book
- Dottie, pricing
